top of page

Get F&co. in your inbox!

Never miss an update

Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.

Christmas Recap & What's to Come in 2017

Hopefully some of you noticed I have been out of commission for the last week or so for Christmas! It was such a nice break getting to go home, see family and stuff my face for a few days, but back to reality (and back to the gym #yikes).

Friesen & co.| Christmas living room

Here's a glimpse at what our little home looks like all decked out in Christmas gear. I don't think I ever want to take our decorations down because I feel like our home shines it's brightest & feels it's coziest just like this. But I am sure Mr. Grinch (aka Taylor, the man who I woke up to saying "Bah-humbug" in his sleep) will be ready for a fresh house after New Year's.

We are gearing up for the next round of kitchen renovations and I have a feeling it will move quickly. Here's what we can look forward to to kick off 2017!

1. Insulation in kitchen wall & attic

We are renting and blowing our own insulation which I don't see as being a taxing project so hopefully that stays true to our expectations.

2. Demo Day

By blowing the insulation instead of tearing out all the plaster (see below), we are saving ourselves some kitchen time. As in, we will have a full functioning kitchen for about a week longer this way. But the day will come when we can finally rip out all the cabinets and get moving!

3. Drywall

Instead of tearing down all the plaster (which was a pain last time) we are just cutting holes in the top of the wall, blowing the insulation & then laying drywall overtop of the plaster. We will only "lose" 1/4 inch of space from doing this but saving a lot of time, messiness, and work.

4. Plumbing

Thank goodness we decided to hire this out because I don't think I could emotionally handle re-plumbing an entire kitchen (and neither could Taylor!). This will be off our plates but is a huge step because that will lead us to...

THE DAY WE ALL (ME) HAVE BEEN WAITING FOR!

5. CABINET INSTALL

I don't think I will be able to sleep that whole week because I will be too excited before & after installing the cabinets!

6. Countertop/sink install

We will probably be without real countertops for awhile because only once we have installed the cabinets can they come measure for our countertops. Then they will need to cut & install them.

7. Fixtures/finishing touches

These will probably be done during the time we are waiting for our countertops to be installed but we will be adding open shelving, pull knobs on the cabinets & overall decor to the kitchen.

Only seven things, how hard could it be right? (she says sarcastically). I can't wait to begin the second part of our journey and see where we end up (and how much longer it takes than my over zealous heart thinks)!

P.S. Taylor isn't the Grinch, I just like to give him a hard time. Plus it's hard when I compare him to the lady who has been dancing to Christmas music everyday for the last month (me).

bottom of page