top of page

Get F&co. in your inbox!

Never miss an update

Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.

Kitchen Remodel Update & Halloween Recap

Kitchen Update

So I know I already released my designs for the kitchen layout, but as I was sitting on the couch one day, staring at the kitchen & picturing what it will look like (as I often do these days), I had an idea. I grabbed the measuring tape & went to work on the Ikea Kitchen Planner tool to see if my idea could work & it does!

Here is the new, and for my husbands sanity, hopefully final, kitchen layout design!

A few things to note: the wall where the peninsula is will be completely open on the right side. I could not figure out how to do that in the Ikea tool. On the left, where the pantry now is, the wall will go all the way to the ceiling & a faux beam will be put in as a header to transition the ceilings since they are two different textures & we do not want to undertake that project yet!

I had this idea just in time because we were just figuring out the wiring for the new light fixtures in the kitchen & had to relocate a few switches & outlets anyway!

Now, the kitchen will open up directly to the dining room & we will have room for 2 barstools on that side of the peninsula. I love the idea of guests having a place to sit & chat while we are in the kitchen & our whole house feeling more open & flowing. This design also gives us a lot more counter space & overall, makes more sense for the space.

We have already started relocating the wiring & tearing out the left side of the wall where the peninsula will go! The house is a wreck now but will be totally worth it in the end!

Halloween Update

It was our first Halloween in our house & the first year we have passed out candy. Not gonna lie you guys, it was quite a disappointment. I got all our candy ready in a big bowl, brought 2 chairs out to the front porch, lit candles & waited.

Disappointment 1: Only one of the chairs ended up being used because Taylor was working on the lights inside the whole time. I can't really be upset because he did soo much work on it yesterday & we are really close to finishing that aspect now!

Disappointment 2: While I was out there, we had 2 trick-or-treaters in the first 45 minutes.

Disappointment 3: I gave up after the first 45 minutes & came inside to help with the lights so who knows if we would have actually had more. I left the lights on & candy outside but when I came back, everything looked untouched.

After we finished the lights around 7:30pm, we gave up & dropped the rest of our candy off at my sisters house (well most of it...). We got to see a few trick-or-treaters there though!

Disappointment 4: At around 8:30pm (after hours for Halloween), we got 4 more stragglers to our house! The reason this was a disappointment is because Taylor answered the door (as usual when we aren't expecting anyone) & I had to hold the dog back so didn't even get to see them.

So our first Halloween in this house didn't go quite as I had hoped but I am hopeful that as we continue to hand out candy, word will spread that the outskirts of the neighborhood are totally worth the extra milage!

bottom of page