top of page

Get F&co. in your inbox!

Never miss an update

Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.

Kitchen Remodel: Part 2 Finding My Style

Finding my style has been one of the hardest parts of owning a home. I think I am not alone in that! At least talking to my friends who have recently purchased their first homes, they have seemed to struggle a bit too.

As a whole, I know I want our house to feel inviting; Like a place you walk in to & immediately feel like you can kick off your shoes & snuggle up on the couch or like you can grab whatever you want out of the fridge. That is how my parents house felt growing up & I loved the deep relationships that allowed us to build. Beyond knowing that, I wasn't sure what I wanted for our home! I didn't realize this would be such a struggle because I have dreamt of owning a house & making it our own for awhile now, so I felt like I was totally prepared! Now that I am actually having to put my Pinning where my mouth is, and trying to combine all my styles into a cohesive feel, I have struggled a bit!

In general, I feel like I have stuck to a laid-back, vintage-industrial/modern-farmhouse feel (is that even a thing?!). It's hard to put into words even as I type this! Anyway, whatever the "title" of my style is, I feel like our house is fairly cohesive!

Stages of Style

When we were beginning the process of buying our house, we were watching a ton of Fixer Upper & I was loving everything Joanna did, because it's Joanna Gaines, and who doesn't?! So when we walked through our house and saw our junky kitchen, this was my inspiration:

Friesen & co. | Fixer Upper Kitchen Inspiration

It's beautiful, open, light & has and amazing feel. I still love this kitchen & some of my inspiration is still coming from this especially in layout, but my style desire has changed, although I still totally love (and am planning to have) the open, natural wood shelves!

I was sure up until about a month ago that I wanted white base cabinets & a blue patterned backsplash that looked as close to this one as possible. Then, I saw this kitchen & fell in love:

Friesen & co. | Chris Loves Julia Kitchen Inspiration

This is Chris Loves Julia's kitchen! They have amazing style & she is pretty much my icon now! So a lot of the styling elements of our kitchen is inspiration from there's.

Both GORGEOUS kitchens, but totally different on the style spectrum. Growing in my taste has thrown me off a bit but I think it's natural & good for me! Having a home has made me think about the things I actually like enough to commit to.

I am so lucky to have these awesome designers go before me so I can gain insight & inspiration from them!

What is your style? Who are your style icons?

Bonus

Here's a very dumbed down version of what our kitchen is going to look like! We are purchasing our cabinets from Ikea in Laxarby black (like Chris Loves Julia's) & have been using Ikea's planning tool which is where I got this snippet from. Not the best quality & is missing a ton in details, but gives you an idea for what we are planning (somewhat, minus our pantry) layout wise!

Friesen & co. | kitchen layout

bottom of page