top of page

Get F&co. in your inbox!

Never miss an update

Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.

Kitchen Remodel: Part 1 BEFORE + 1st change

Ever since the first showing of our house (a year ago in January! crazy how fast time flies!!) we knew we were going to have to redo the kitchen. This was actually one of the reasons we purchased the house. We wanted to be able to put everything we wanted into the house & have it truly reflect who we are & our style. So, I was specifically looking for a house with basically no updates but had a lot of potential. We didn't want to pay for upgrades that we would end up tearing out in the process, or, even worse in my opinion, keeping them even though we didn't like them.

So yesterday we began (sort of) our kitchen remodel & I am dying, I almost mean literally, to keep moving! Here is how our kitchen looks currently (not including the first update) & I might say, I am slightly embarrassed by it!

Cabinets:

Friesen & co. | kitchen remodel before

Full view from dining room:

Friesen & co | kitchen remodel before

Full view from back door:

Friesen & co. | kitchen remodel before

Appliances:

Friesen & co. | Kitchen remodel before
Friesen & co. | kitchen remodel before

We put in the stainless steel appliances on week 1. We found all of them from Lowe's & got a great deal on them all because of sale that was going on.

Here are their links:

The one thing I will say that has kind of bothered me about these is that they get finger prints very easily & it drives me slightly insane. I found an easy solution in a DIY tutorial a few months ago that worked magic for me! I'll post a short post about it with before & after pictures next!

First update:

The work we had done yesterday (yes, we gave in and had a company come & do it), was putting in our large picture window! We love how much light it gives to our kitchen & I love being able to see the entire yard. It feels like we have an indoor-outdoor space now which was the main goal! It opens everything up! Now on to fixing the rest of the wall...

Friesen & co. | kitchen remodel before

Look for posts coming soon on the progress we are making! Here is the list of the projects that are coming up soon:

1. natural wood shiplap around picture window

2. opening up wall between dining room & kitchen

3. kitchen lighting update

bottom of page